A beautiful 1862 US Coast Survey of the Kennebec and Sheepscot Rivers, from the lighthouse at Seguin Island, upriver as far as the bridge at Wiscasset. The map shows original hand coloring, and all the details that make the US Coast Surveys fascinating: details of roads, houses, topography, geological deposits and property boundary lines, not seen on a modern chart.
The area is one of the most intriguing of coastal Maine. The rivers are connected by inland water routes which allow passage between Bath and Boothbay Harbor, as well as many meandering waterways through Five Islands - Georgetown, Arrowsic, Robinhood Cove.
The mouth of the river on the western shore is the site of the Popham Colony, one of two English settlements in 1607, the other being Jamestown. Popham was abandoned after 17 months, but bears the distinction of being the site where the first ship was built by Europeans in the New World. Ship building continues on the river to this day at Bath. Bath Iron Works is one of the largest employers in the state. The Maine Maritime Museum is just south of BIW, at the site of the 19th C. Percy & Small Shipyard
Archival reproduction print from high resolution scan. 21.25" x 35"